It’s Fall Y’all


Fall is finally here. I know, I know… I haven’t posted since spring but being the ringmaster of this circus I call home has been complete chaos. We’re about 3 weeks into our school year and kids are well into their activities. YaYa (my 12 year old) is actually playing in the band this year (the flute) at the middle school near us. I think it’s pretty dope how they’re letting home schooled kids participate in extra curricular activities.
In other news, my baby sister got married a couple weekends ago so the family and I got to take a road trip to Georgia for that, spent some quality time with my siblings, had our typical dysfunctional family moments and witnessed the beautiful union of my sissy and new brother in law.

Now that we’re back to “real life”…. school, home… kids trying to murder each other ever 9 minutes, I figured I’d start blogging again and admit it, y’all missed me…or whatever. I am super geeked that it is fall. This is definitely my favorite season… Cooler weather, hoodies, bonfires, pumpkin flavored EVERYTHING and of course those fall dishes that just warm you right up. And y’all know I love to cook! 

To start the season off right I had to make my  vegetarian chili. It’s a family fave, just the right amount of spicy and just feels so good. AND, something else dope…I served the chili in little pumpkins, saving the seeds to roast tomorrow. Don’t worry, I’ll post a recipe for that as well. But for now, here’s the vegetarian chili recipe. Hope y’all enjoy, let me know how yours turns out if you make it and/or any adjustments you have made, but not too many adjustments… Don’t be messin up my chili y’all. Oh and don’t forget, most recipes I post are for my family size so half it if you need to.

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 tbs olive oil
  • 2 cups diced red bell pepper
  • 3 cups diced onion
  • 4 tbs minced fresh garlic
  • 5 Serrano peppers (remove seeds or keep them in if you can handle the heat)
  • 2 large zucchini, diced
  • 3 cups diced portobello mushrooms
  • 2 tbs ground cumin
  • 4 tbs chili powder
  • 4 tsp Himalayan pink salt
  • 1 tsp cayenne
  • 8 large tomatoes, diced
  • 3 cups black beans, drained and rinsed if you’re using canned
  • 2 (15 oz) cans of tomato sauce
  • 2 cups vegetable broth

DIRECTIONS

In a large pot heat oil. Add onions, peppers and garlic. Stir while cooking for about 5 minutes (yell upstairs for kids to stop running in the house)

Add mushrooms and zucchini and cook for an additional 10 minutes

Add cumin, chili powder, salt and cayenne and stir until fragrant, about 1 minute ( equivalent to the amount of time it will take kids to destroy everything you cleaned)

Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, beans and vegetable stock. Stir well and bring to a boil (Yell again for kids to stop running in the house)

Reduce heat, and cook for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. I also use this to time to occasionally check on kids to make sure they’re all still accounted for, in one piece and breathing. I think they all were.

Remove from heat and add any garnishments you like. We use cilantro, green onions, avocados and plain Greek yogurt.

Retrieve any kids that are in time out and serve over rice!

Leave a comment